Vegans and Vegetarians Want To Drink Too!

Veganism is nothing new. If you don’t know what it is or what it’s about then you probably don’t own a phone, tv, or have much contact with other people. Some people call it a craze or a fad but that couldn’t be farther from the truth. The truth is that it has been around much longer than most of us are aware. It has even been around here, in the United States since the 1700’s. So let’s take a look at what has become a very permanent ideology in our society and more importantly what kind of dranks they can have!

A Brief History of Veganism

Have you ever heard of the Pythagorean Theorem? I am well aware you may be thinking, “what does math have to with this?” right now, but bare with me. Pythagoras of Samos is the first person to mention Vegetarianism in written language. This goes back to 500 b.c. and the Greek civilization. Pythagoras believed that benevolence among all living species should be followed. 

Here in the United States a religious sect in Pennsylvania advocated vegetarianism as far back as 1732. Meanwhile, in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, a philosopher named Jeremy Bentham believed that animal suffering was as serious as human suffering. The majority of the vegetarian beliefs revolved around the idea that humans were not superior to animals.

In today’s society vegetarians have broken the mold and have become a widely accepted part of our society. There are many restaurants that offer a vegetarian option and national food chains almost always have a vegetarian option on the menu. There are entire sections at the grocery store devoted to it and in a lot of cases they don’t even feel there is a need for a special section. There are so many Vegetarian options that they just put them next to the products they are emulating.  

Veganism, however, is a little different. Strict Vegans prohibit the use of any and all animal products, whether it is food or not. Veganism is tied more directly to animal rights and tends to be viewed as more radical than vegetarianism. This restricts many of the products available to Vegans. Humans are also part of this equation so any products that result in harm or poor conditions for humans are prohibited as well like diamonds, Paints, Black Tattoo ink, and a large list of other things. 

Ultimately, the decision of what to consume or use is up to the individual. There are vegetarians who do not consume meat but have no issue with using products produced by animals like Milk, Eggs, and Honey. Some will abstain from all things animal related in terms of food. Strict Vegans adhere to staying away from anything that does or may cause harm to humans and animals. 

What Can A Vegan Drink?

Fortunately, when it comes to the world of alcohol there aren’t many restrictions food wise for vegetarians and vegans. It all depends on the way it was made because most liquors do not include any animal based ingredients. Of course, sensibly sourced materials are needed and how the company treats it’s sourcing and employees plays a factor in strict veganism. Below you will find three lists comprised of liquor, beer, and wine that are considered vegan based on their ingredients. This is not a complete list, so for more information be sure to research your choices to make sure they fall in line with your lifestyle. If you want to learn more then check out this book on Amazon. 

Liquor
  • 1800 Tequila
  • Absolut Vodka
  • Bacardi Silver
  • Beefeater Gin
  • Black Velvet Whisky
  • Crown Royal
  • Grey Goose Vodka
  • Jack Daniels
  • Maker’s Mark
  • Malibu
  • Patron
  • Seagrams 
  • Skyy Vodka
  • Smirnoff Vodka
  • Wild Turkey Rye
Beer
  • Amstel Light
  • Budweiser
  • Corona
  • Miller Genuine Draft
  • Heineken
  • Labatt Blue
  • Michelob
  • Natural Light
  • Pabst
  • Samuel Adams
Wines
  • Charles Shaw (red wines only)
  • Frey Vineyards
  • The Vegan Vine
  • Red Truck Wines
  • Yellowtail (red wines only; not white or rosé)

Vegan Recipes To Tempt Everyone

Vegan White Russian

Ingredients

  • 10-14 coconut or almond milk ice cubes*
  • 1 1/2 ounces vodka
  • 1 1/2 ounces Kahlua
  • 1/4 cup bold coffee (chilled)
  • Agave nectar or powdered stevia (for sweetening // or honey if not vegan)
  • Chocolate sauce (optional // for topping)

Instructions

  • To make coconut ice cubes, simply shake and stir a can of full fat coconut milk (or use light coconut milk OR unsweetened almond milk, though it won’t be as creamy) and pour it into an ice cube mold. Freeze until completely hardened – 5-7 hours or overnight.
  • Add coconut ice cubes, coffee, vodka and Kahlua to a blender and blend until smooth. Taste and adjust sweetness if needed, adding agave nectar, stevia or honey (if not vegan) if desired.
  • Pour into 2 tall or 4 short serving glasses (as original recipe is written) and top with chocolate sauce and/or coconut whipped cream

Recipe originally found here.

Vegan Cranberry Mojito Punch
  • Add sugar and mint to a pitcher and muddle.
  • Add the slices of one lime along with 1 cup of fresh or frozen cranberries to the pitcher.
  • Pour in fresh squeezed lime juice and rum, stir to dissolve sugar.
  • Pour in cranberry juice concentrate and stir.
  • Top off with lime seltzer.

Original recipe found here.

Barclay

Ingredients

  • 30ml coffee liqueur
  • 30ml brandy
  • 60ml dairy free chocolate ice cream (recipe in mixers, at the bottom of the article)
  • 30ml double coconut or almond cream (recipe in creams)
  • 15ml whipped coconut or almond cream, to garnish
  • 15ml dairy free flaked chocolate, to garnish

Method

Combine the coffee liqueur, brandy, ice cream and double cream in a tall glass. Stir until smooth. Top with the dairy free whipped cream. Grate and sprinkle the vegan chocolate on top. Recipe found here.

Hangman’s Blood

Ingredients

  • 30ml chilled stout
  • 30ml gin
  • 30ml rum
  • 30ml whisky
  • 30ml brandy
  • 30ml port
  • 120ml champagne

Method

Combine the gin, rum, whisky, brandy and port in a pint glass.

Add the champagne and top up with the stout. 

Recipe found here.

Bloody Mary

Ingredients

  • 30ml vodka
  • 30ml V8 (recipe in mixers)
  • 7.5ml lemon juice (recipe in mixers)
  • 30ml vegan Worcestershire sauce (recipe in sauces)
  • 2ml chilli sauce (recipe in sauces)
  • 2ml tabasco sauce (recipe in sauces)
  • 5ml celery salt
  • 7.5ml ground black pepper

Method

Put all ingredients except the vodka in a large jug. Mix well, taste for seasonings, and correct as needed. For each drink, put 30ml vodka in a tall glass with plenty of ice. Top with V8 juice mixture, stir well, and drink.

Recipe Found Here.

Pimm’s Royal

Ingredients

  • 30ml Pimm’s No.1
  • 15ml Cointreau
  • 1 lemon zest
  • 4 cucumber peels
  • handful mint leaves
  • champagne or sparkling wine, to top
  • strawberry, to garnish

Method

Pour the Pimm’s and Cointreau over ice in a tall highball glass. Fill with wine, and add the lemon, cucumber and mint. Cut halfway into the strawberry, and push it onto the rim of the glass.

For more recipes check out this book on Amazon. 

Hopefully you have found this article enlightening. Vegetarians and Vegans should NOT be left out of the party. Inclusion is never a bad thing. Don’t assume that because you love beef jerky, hamburgers, and beer can chicken that you won’t get along with someone because they are vegan. I actually have a really good friend who runs a nice little brewery in town here and…he’s a vegan! It’s never been an issue. Vegans and Vegetarians are usually prepared beforehand with their own food and drink, so why not surprise them by having something they can eat available for them. It will mean more than you know. Especially if it’s a yummy drink. Cheers!

Here at hmmwhat2drink.com, we strive for a commitment to excellence. We enjoy our beers, spirits, and specialty drinks as much as the next, but we urge you to drink responsibly. These articles and recipes are intended for adults and as such, should be used in the proper context. So have fun, relax, but do it responsibly in your home or with a designated driver. If you have any suggestions please email us at hmmwhat2drink@gmail.com.

HmmWhat2Drink.com is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to Amazon.com.